a farewell to southeast asia

Kith & kin!

It seems impossible that this will be the last post from Southeast Asia, but alas, the time has come to move on. In fact, Sam has already done so, and has shown me some incredible photos from his time in Nepal so far, but you’ll have to wait a month or so to hear the stories from him.

In the meantime, let’s talk a little about Bangkok:

Returning here was an exercise in mixed emotions. On the one hand, it’s not as though I really had much choice in the matter of returning here (Bangkok being the only city in which I could obtain an Indian visa); on the other hand, it seemed appropriate to complete this leg of the journey in the city in which it had begun. I was worried that it would feel strange visiting or revisiting certain neighbourhoods without Sam — not to mention the fact that I am the world’s worst navigator, and desperately missed his superior sense of direction. But perhaps most of all, I was worried that some of the city’s magic would be gone.

After all, I’ve been here for a hundred and six days. A hundred and six! Is that even possible? I’ve had grasshoppers for a post-diner nosh not once but twice. I’ve seen monks chatting into iPhones. I’ve swum in bioluminescent waters, eaten at  a restaurant where cats sleep in the beer fridge, seen hundreds of lanterns floating into the night sky, and crossed (twice) a four-way roundabout in which each lane was fifteen motorbikes thick. All these things, combined with the fact that I was now beginning to itch for India, led me to worry that returning to Thailand would be a bit of a disappointment or that somehow, by going back, I would ruin my memory of it.

The good news? Bangkok’s still got it.

 

The even better news? My visa’s ready this afternoon, so Indira Ganhi International Airport, here I come.

From Bangkok with love,

A

One thought on “a farewell to southeast asia

  1. Elsa says:

    You know that we await your blogs impatiently and read them avidly and re-live some of our experiences through your adventures!!! So, now, of course, we will be even more impatient to hear about your India journey. Where will you be? What will you see? What will you experience? Do you like it? Do you love it? Are the people friendly? Are the people bothersome? Are the temples beautiful? Are the markets wonderful? And…and…and….
    Have a wonderful next step in your journey around the world!!! We think about you lots!
    Love,
    Elsa and Percy.

Leave a Reply

