Morocco-Iceland-Home.

Well, this is the last entry I’ll write, and I’m writing it from home! My journey has finally come to an end. I’ll get all sentimental on you later. First, I have some stuff to show you!

After our amazing road trip to Southern Morocco, Nyman, Alanna and I headed up North for a little while. Our first stop was Meknes, just 60km from Fes. The town itself is rather small, and is not the most exciting place we’ve been, but the reason we went there was because just out of town is Volubilis. Besides just an awesome name, Volubilis happens to be some of the best preserved Roman ruins I’ve ever seen… and I’ve been to Italy! We spent a beautiful afternoon wandering around the site and taking in the beauty of the surrounding area. Within walking distance of Volubilis is the town of Moulay Idriss. It’s a small hillside Moroccan town, with friendly people and great views. Need I say more?

Moulay Idris

View from Moulay Idris

After Meknes, we headed back to Fes. Alanna and I had spent two days there when we first arrived in Morocco, and Nyman had spent some time there a few years back, so we were all excited to go back and keep exploring the Medina! The main draw to Fes is the Medina. It’s unbelievably huge, and getting lost in it is the quintessential Fes experience. So for 5 days, that’s what we did! We ate well, walked around, and visited with a guy we had met our first time there, Ahmed. During the last seven months, there are a handful of people whose unrelenting kindness has been almost overwhelming. Ahmed might be at the top of that list. He works at the guesthouse that Alanna and I stayed at when we were first in Fes, and we tried to go back to the same one, but they were all booked up. Regardless, we still wanted to visit Ahmed, and so we poked our heads one day and had a wonderful visit with him on the rooftop. We had mentioned how much we loved the breakfast there, so he invited us for breakfast the next day. So the next day we went for a breakfast consisting of crepes, doughnuts, cornbread, yogurt, coffee, tea, eggs, and I’m probably forgetting something. After we feasted, Ahmed refused to let us pay for the breakfast despite the fact we weren’t even staying there. We then said our goodbyes after a wonderful visit and said that we might run into him later near our hotel. Around dinner time, Nyman and I were sitting in a cafe and ran into Ahmed, who had been looking for us. We had tea with him (which he insisted on paying for) and then just as we were saying our goodbyes again, he pulled out a bag of gifts for us. He really made our time in Fes that much more special.

Fes Medina

Fes Tanneries

Fes

After Fes, we had one more place the three of us wanted to visit called Chefchaouen. We had heard nothing but great things about Chefchaouen, and so I wanted to make an effort to make it up there, and it was well worth it! The town is painted blue, and it is situated at the start of the Riff Mountains. It’s at least twice as beautiful as it sounds. We met up with a friend we had made in Marrakesh named Mustapha and spent a few days taking in the scenery before we all had to part ways.

Birthday dinner!

The blue city

From Chefchaouen, I took an 11 hour bus back to Marrakesh, then the next day flew to London (flight was 4 hours late. Thanks Ryan Air!) and then got a connecting flight to the last stop on my trip, Iceland!

A few months back I had begun planning my trip back to Canada and was thinking about stopping over in Iceland for a few days. My grandma is Icelandic and it’s always been on my must-see list. Turns out that my uncle and Grandpa were planning a quick four day trip there around the time I was planning on coming home. So we met up for four days before continuing on to Toronto. Iceland is a place that continually blows my mind. There’s the obvious reasons: The landscape, and the natural beauty. But there’s also the fact that for a country of 320,000 people, it has so much going on. It has a music scene that could rival most big cities in Canada, and no shortage of public art. It’s very developed and despite some economic hardship a few years back, seems to have a pretty booming tourism economy. Our time there was spent exploring Reykjavik, visiting (and in my case meeting) old family and friends. Oh, and there was also the 9 hour jeep tour we did of glaciers, lava flows, waterfalls, and hot springs! That was a highlight of the trip for sure. It was a short trip, but it was just long enough to wet my appetite for Iceland and guarantee a trip back before too long.

Colourful Reykjavik

The Days

Some off roading!

Hot springs

Reykjavik Opera House

Home!

And that brings me to where I am now. Writing with my computer in my bed in Toronto. In total, I was gone for just about seven months. At the time, it felt like an eternity but now that I’m back it feels like I was gone for no time at all. In a way it kind of feels like a dream. Being back home feels so familiar that it’s hard to think back on all the amazing things that I’ve done over the last seven months. It all seems very far away.

But I’m glad to be home. I think I was gone for just the right amount of time. By the end I could feel myself losing the passion for seeing everything I could and experiencing I could. I still enjoyed everything I did, but I didn’t have the same drive that I did at the start of my trip.  So I was happy to come home before burning out. I figure it’s better to end on a positive note rather than going until I’m completely tired of traveling. I want the last memories of my trip to be positive. There are still tons of places I want to see in the world. But that will have to wait for the next trip!

So, with that, I hand the blog over entirely to Alanna. I’ll be eagerly awaiting the stories about her continued adventures!

Thanks to everyone who read my rants over the last seven months!

From Toronto with love,

Sam

One thought on “Morocco-Iceland-Home.

  1. mama says:

    glad to have you home…..sorry to loose the blog. it is terrific!
    xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

